top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNatalie Dick

Whole30 Bacon, Egg, and Sweet Potato Cups



Sometimes while I'm frying up my eggs in the morning, I think about how much easier it would be to pour myself a bowl of cereal instead. But then I check back in with myself and keep frying my eggs.


But when I have breakfast already prepped and cooked in the fridge, it's even faster than pouring that bowl of cereal! So I like to have these egg cups on hand for busy school mornings or times where I really should have gone to bed earlier.


These egg cups are great without the sweet potato, but they're so much more filling with them included! On the go, these have protein and veggies all in one, and with a handful of nuts, coconut milk in your coffee, or an avocado, this makes a complete meal.


First, I preheated the oven to 400*. Then while the oven heated up I got my sweet potato ready. To lower cooking time, I microwave my sweet potato for 5 minutes first. All you have to do is poke holes first so it doesn't explode. While the sweet potato was cooking, I lined the muffin cups with one slice of bacon per cup. Then I sliced the sweet potato into rounds about 1/4 inch thick and fit them into the cups. Trim to size if they are too large for your muffin cups. The sweet potato will keep the bacon from curling up too much while it cooks.



Then I baked them at 400* for 10 minutes. After taking them out, crack an egg into each muffin cup. Add salt and pepper to taste, and bake for another 10 minutes.



Once you pull the egg cups out of the oven, let them sit for about 5 minutes before removing them from the muffin cups. The egg whites will still be a bit raw on top, but as they rest in the hot muffin tin, they will continue to cook. If you prefer more firm egg whites, let them rest for another 3-5 minutes. To remove from the tin, run a spatula or a knife along the outside of the egg cups and pop them out.




Store these in the fridge for 5-7 days, reheat, and enjoy!



Whole30 Bacon, Egg, and Sweet Potato Cups


Ingredients


6 slices bacon

6 eggs

1 sweet potato

Salt and pepper to taste


Instructions


1. Preheat oven to 400*.

2. Poke holes in sweet potato and place on a microwave safe plate. Microwave for 5 minutes.

3. While sweet potato cooks, line muffin cups with one slice of bacon each.

4. Slice sweet potato into rounds 1/4 inch thick and fit them into the cups. Trim to size if they are too large for your muffin cups.

5. Bake at 400* for 10 minutes.

6. Remove from oven and crack an egg into each cup. Season with salt and pepper.

7. Bake for an additional 10 minutes. Remove from oven. Allow to rest for 5-10 minutes so the egg whites continue to cook and firm up in the hot muffin tin.

8. To remove from cups, run a spatula or a knife along the outside of the egg cups and pop them out. Eat immediately, or store in the fridge for 5-7 days.

72 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page